Pampalehleh
Pampalehleh
Subject Matter Expertise & Growing an Audience
2
0:00
-4:06

Subject Matter Expertise & Growing an Audience

How I need your help to decide on a topic.
2

Hello Superstars!

I just returned from my home island, St. Croix, and feel rejuvenated! But I’m getting ahead of myself. The Friday before the trip, I attended the Writing Day Workshops Carolinas event here in Charlotte. My key takeaway was that in order to build an audience (like I’m trying to do here), you have to display subject matter expertise other than in writing.

Well shoot.

This whole time, I’ve seen this blog/podcast as sharing my journey to being a bestselling author as it happens, with the intention of finally getting there having helped others along with me. And I also throw in the celebrity run-in anecdotes from time to time to keep you laughing.

One time, I was flying home to St. Croix from college, and Jimmie Walker of Good Times fame was on the flight. (DYNOMITE!) As I deplaned, I told him how much I loved his character, J.J., and he said in a dad voice: “Thank you, young lady.” I’m not sure why, but it still makes me laugh!

I’m also reading that authors (especially fiction authors like me) are finding that blogs and podcasts aren’t worth their time in terms of growing their audience. That makes me wonder if I should just shutter and focus solely on writing books and microfiction (🙀Shameless Self-Promotion Moment: I was included on The Letter Review Prize Short Fiction Shortlist!)

The truth is that doing this every week is helpful to me because it keeps me focused on my goals. But is it adding value to anyone else’s lives? I’m not sure.

So how does one go about choosing a topic of expertise, anyway? I’m told it doesn’t have to have anything to do with my books, but can’t decide. What do you think? I’ve come up with the following subjects about which I know quite a bit and wouldn’t get bored—but now I feel like it should be up to you.

So please let me know what you decide via this poll:

Loading...

Thank you!

May your week be full of blooms and absent of pollen. 🌹🌺

2 Comments
Pampalehleh
Pampalehleh
an examination of reggae, rockers & ska music