Pampalehleh
Pampalehleh
‘Bandelero’ by Pinchers
0:00
-6:01

‘Bandelero’ by Pinchers

What is this cowboy opera of a song really about?

Hello Superstars!

One of my all-time favorite dancehall songs is “Bandelero” by Pinchers. If you’re not familiar, take a listen:

It’s so good! But honestly, I’m not 100% sure what it’s about. (Are you able to enjoy a song without registering the lyrics, too?) Well today’s the day that we’re going to figure out what Pinchers was talking about when he sang:

Hey, gringos on Pasero
I want you make way for the Bandelero
'Cuz if you don't do that, my friend, then your number is zero
Dem lyrics a chop like the sword of Zorro
Roo rooooo

First of all, what is a bandelero?

‘Bandelero’ means a bandit or outlaw in Spain and Mexico. But what does that have to do with dancehall music? Let’s look at the lyrics:

Bandelero

by Pinchers

When we pass through, man!
A danger business! (Gunshot!)
So you know say, original bandelero man!
Roooo ooooh
[Chorus]
Hey, gringos on Pasero
I want you make way for the Bandelero
'Cuz if you don't do that, my friend, then your number is zero
Dem lyrics a chop like the sword of Zorro
Roo rooooo
Shoulda seen me inna Colorado
When I buck up di youth, Franco Nero
When the horse, it a kick up, and a gallop, and the caravan stay so
Zeroooo
Now him come lick the pelico
And pelico go fly up in him marrow
Him waan fi jump inna mi chest, him feel him bad, because him feel over-macho
Zeroooo
But I just drink the Tequila
A so mi arms up the sweet chi-chiquita
And tell her "buenos tardes señorita, I am the profesora"
Zeroooooo
You should never diss the champion
Noooooo
My name is Pinchers, I'm the Don Gorgon
Yeah, yeah
Hey, gringos on Pasero
I want you make way for the Bandelero
Because, if you don't do that, my friend, then your number is zero
Dem lyrics a chop like the sword of Zorro
Roo rooooo
Pick a likkle tune from mi banjo
Make a little walk in El Paso
Tell dem say, "fi take it down low this is ain't no stage show"
Zeroooooo
Dem ask me, "Pinchers, mek mi bad so?"
"And mi wicked than the one, Al Pacino?"
Dem took up over deh so, and a watch the Bandelero just a move so
Zeroooooooo
Hey, gringos on Pasero!
Make way for the Bandelero
'Cuz, if you don't do that, my friend, then your number is zero
'Cuz anytime mi come, nah lef' my pistolero
Zerooooooo
You should never diss the champion
Nooo noooo
My name is Pinchers, I'm the Don Gorgon
Yeah, yeah
Franco Nero, him go lick the pelico
And pelico go fly up in him marrow
Him waan fi jump inna mi chest, him gwan like say him...over-macho
Zeroooo
But I just drink the Tequila
A so mi arms up him sweet chi-chiquita
And tell her "buenos tardes señorita, I am the profesora"
Zeroooooo ooooh
Mercy now
Oh, no mercy now
No mercy now
No, no, no, no, no, gee wee
Oh, you should never diss the champion
Nooo noooo
My name is Pinchers, I'm the Don Gorgon
Yeah, yeah
Hey, gringos on Pasero
Make way for the Bandelero...
Source: Genius.com

Well, well. Now that we can read the lyrics, there seems to be a lot in this song that refers to the American Southwest. Some related words in the song are tequila (Mexico), El Paso (Texas), and Pinchers talks about being in Colorado—not far from Texas. We hear the words, ‘gringo’ (slang for white people), ‘chiquita’ (slang for a cute girl), and ‘pistolero’ (a Spanish gunfighter).

And there’s a handful of names thrown into the mix:

Zorro: Back then, Zorro was a huge fictional, Robin Hood-type hero from Mexico / Texas. They made a movie about him in the 90s with Antonio Banderas (think Puss ‘n’ Boots, but not a cat) and Catherine Zeta Jones.

Don Gorgon: Patois for a kingpin who should be feared and respected.

Franco Nero: YouTube tells me that this dude is an Italian actor who was in a bunch of Spaghetti Western movies, which were usually set in Texas or similar.

Al Pacino: We know who he is. The lyric is about being more wicked than Al Pacino, so maybe it’s just a reference to Pacino’s tough guy movie roles—and ‘Pacino’ fits in with the rhyming scheme.

Finally, ‘pelico’ is slang for freebase cocaine. That’s a lot of moving parts. Let’s break it down:

Image of Pinchers from ReverbNation

This is just my interpretation but I think that in the song, Pinchers embodies the rough and tough original outlaw from the Old American West. He says, wake up white people on drugs and get out of the Bandelero’s way or he’s going to take them down like Zorro’s blade.

He talks about running into the macho cowboy actor Franco Nero in Colorado and how he was freebasing cocaine (allegedly), getting crazy and being annoying. But the Bandelero isn’t stupid enough to freebase. He just drinks tequila and chills with his lady.

Pay respect to the Bandelero because he is the kingpin—unbeatable. I think the next part is about how good his concerts are. Ultimately, respect the Bandelero because he’s armed and shows no mercy for foolishness.

What do you think? Am I on the right track? Let me know in the comments.

I hope that your week is full of listening to your favorite songs—even if you’re not sure what they mean!

🎶🧐🤯😁

*Player Image by Hans from Pixabay

Discussion about this podcast

Pampalehleh
Pampalehleh
an examination of reggae, rockers & ska music